The Mach-Gaensslen Foundation is governed by a volunteer board of directors.

Board of Directors and staff, Mach-Gaensslen Foundation of Canada (left to right): Anthony M. Tattersfield, Dr. Katharine Gillis, Dr. Ian Arnold, Karen Petticrew (research coordinator), Dr. Branavan Manoranjan, Dr. Christopher Carruthers, Johanne Charbonneau, Richard M. Hofer, Carolyn Brown (communications). Photo © Jessica Deeks.

Board of directors

Christopher Carruthers, MD, FRCSC, MBA, ICD.D
Dr. Carruthers is a a retired orthopedic surgeon and now corporate director. He held several senior medical executive positions at the former Ottawa Civic Hospital, as well as serving as chief of staff of the Ottawa Hospital (1998–2008) and interim chief of staff of Bruyère Continuing Care (2013). He is a founder and the first president of the Canadian Society of Physician Leaders. He is currently a director of HOST (Help our Students program-Ottawa). He is past director and chair of several boards, including Carleton University, the Ottawa International Airport Authority, Ashbury College, Ashbury College Foundation, the Canadian Medical Association Foundation (chair), and Canadian Medical Association Holdings-2018 Inc. He has also been a director of Canadian Blood Services, Accreditation Canada, The Ottawa Hospital, Ontario Hospital Association, Ottawa Flying Club and several other organizations.

Vice chair
Dr. Arnold practised general surgery in Labrador for 8 years where he also became involved in workplace environment, health, and safety with Quebec Cartier Mining and the Iron Ore Company of Canada. He then worked in that field for several different organizations including the Alberta government, Dow Chemical, Noranda, and Alcan. Dr. Arnold continues to consult in occupational health and safety and workplace psychological health and safety. He is past chair of OEMAC, the CBOM, and the Workforce Advisory Committee of the Mental Health Commission of Canada. Since 2011, he has worked on standards for workplace psychological health and safety in Canada and internationally. Dr. Arnold is an adjunct professor in the Faculty of Medicine at McGill University. In 2012, he received the Canadian Workplace Wellness Pioneer Award and the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal for his work in workplace psychological health and safety. On July 1, 2020, he was listed in the Queen’s Canadian Honours Awards to receive the Meritorious Service Cross (M.S.C.) for his volunteer work in leading the development of the Canadian National Standard on Workplace Psychological Health and Safety.

Anthony M. Tattersfield, FCPA, FCA, CFE, TEP, CA/LPA(BZ)
Tony Tattersfield is a founding member of the Ottawa practice of Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton LLP, with over 40 years’ experience providing audit, accounting and advisory services to clients in various industries and sectors. However, his focus is on not-for-profit organizations and non-publicly listed corporations. Tony has extensive board and governance experience, serving in varying capacities on boards/committees for Consumers Association of Canada, St. John Ambulance, Canadian Ski Association, Ashbury College, Rideau Club, CPA-ON Professional Conduct Committee, Ashbury College Foundation, Mach-Gaensslen Foundation of Canada, Canadian Foundation for the Americas (FOCAL), National Arts Centre, Ottawa Estate Planning Council, Carleton University, National Theatre School of Canada, and The Hnatyshyn Foundation.

Richard M. Hofer
Mr. Hofer is a business person active in land development and consulting.

Johanne Charbonneau, FCPA, FCGA, MBA, C.Dir
Ms. Charbonneau is a senior financial executive with more than 35 years’ experience in the private sector, government, and Crown Corporations. She was vice-president and CFO of CBC/Radio-Canada and of the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), where she worked in Africa, Latin America, and Southeast Asia. Ms. Charbonneau now devotes her time and expertise to board governance. She is the chair of the Audit Committee of Grand Challenges Canada and of the Desjardins Financial Group. Past board engagements include several financial institutions, the Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario (chair), as well as the Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre.

Katharine Gillis, MD
Dr. Gillis graduated from Memorial University of Newfoundland Medical School in 1982 and completed a psychiatry residency at the University of Ottawa in 1995. She is a former family physician who has worked in Canada, the United States, and New Zealand.

From 2009 to 2017, Dr. Gillis served as chair of the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Ottawa. She has worked for over 20 years at The Ottawa Hospital where she recently completed a term as head of the Department of Psychiatry.

She is a national leader in medical education and has served in various capacities at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC).

Dr. Gillis’ previous board experience includes the RCPSC Council, The Ottawa Hospital Academic Medicine Organization, the University of Ottawa Brain and Mind Research Institute Advisory Board, and the uOttawa Institute for Mental Health Research Royal Ottawa Health Care Group.

Branavan Manoranjan, MD, PhD
Dr. Manoranjan is completing a residency as a neurosurgeon-scientist at the University of Calgary, with many scientific research articles to his credit. With a passion for improving brain tumour therapies, he will be completing a postdoctoral research fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York. During his combined medical and graduate school training at McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, he was awarded the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship, the country’s highest honour for doctoral trainees and the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Award, which recognizes future leaders and innovators of health care in Canada.

Other staff

Karen Petticrew
Research coordinator

Nicole MacIsaac
Financial administrator

Carolyn Brown

Sandy Garland
Website maintenance

Tim McMillan
Website design